top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMrs.T

No stake in our future?

I couldn’t let this week go by without blogging about Brexit (sorry!). This weekend my husband was one of the one million strong crowd marching for a people’s vote in London on Saturday. I couldn’t attend unfortunately but I did my bit by helping to make a series of placards for him and his sister to take with them (including the one pictured below).


As a couple, we passionately believe that Brexit is a huge mistake and that the deal we have now is the best one for the country. A deal with our neighbours that has assured peace within Europe since the last world war. A deal which has enabled us to benefit from a freedom of movement that we have taken advantage of throughout our lives. A deal which supports the NHS by providing about 5% of the total workforce. These are all amazing things that Britain is risking through delivering on the promise of Brexit.


For me personally, and many other non-white British citizens I’m sure, one of the scariest things that has happened as a result of Brexit, is the rise in so-called nationalism. In the three months directly after the EU referendum alone, more than 14,000 Hate Crimes were reported and 10 forces reported more than a 50% increase on the previous three months. The resurgence that brown people should ‘go back to where they came from’ and a general feeling that ‘foreigners aren’t welcome’ feels like we have stepped back in time. It’s just not something I can support.



Contrary to popular belief, Brexit is not ‘the will of the people’; it is the will of the 52% of people that voted for it three years ago. Many of those that made up the majority aren’t even alive anymore; demographic changes mean the number of Remain supporters grow by 235,000 each year, while the number of Leave backers falls by 260,000.


The younger generation that couldn’t vote in the original referendum three years ago will ultimately pay the price. My nieces and nephews and friend’s children will look back at this time with bewilderment – just like we do when we think about the times women couldn’t vote or when black and white people couldn’t use the same bathrooms; so obviously wrong and stupid.


My husband and I are committed to opposing Brexit because we care passionately about a future where peace is valued, opportunities span across 20+ countries and where we encourage finding what we have in common rather than our differences. We may not be around to see a future like that – but we fight for it anyway. That’s why I find it so frustrating when I hear people say that those who are childfree or childless don’t care as much about the future as they ‘have no stake in it’.


I’m no fan of Theresa May (who is?!), but I don’t think it’s fair that she, and other leaders without children are on the receiving end of ‘childless’ as an insult. There are far more meaningful and intelligent insults that could be thrown her way! Her incompetence as a leader isn’t down to the fact that she hasn’t had kids.


People with children can also be selfish, self-obsessed and terrible leaders. There are plenty of examples *cough-TRUMP-cough*.


Having children doesn’t suddenly make you a more compassionate, caring or empathetic person. There are people in the world that are already this way – and from what I’ve seen, they make the best parents.


We all have a stake in our future - whether we have kids or not. We all have an impact on the world somehow and we all leave something behind. As they say; no (wo)man is an island. I just hope the island I live on realises that too.


Mrs. T x


What I did this week: This week me and Mr.T went to see Akala in conversation – he was talking about his book ‘Natives’ which explores race and class in Britain. It’s such a great read – I highly recommend it. On Wednesday we went out with our lovely friends and neighbours for dinner and to talk about Sri Lanka before they jetted off on Friday (Mr. T and I were there this time six years ago). At the weekend Mr.T went down to London to join the People’s Vote March while I hosted a reunion with the four girls I lived with at University. I love how we are still friends nearly 15 years on from when we met and all make the effort to get together at least once a year 😊 We had a boozy daytime sesh which started with a round of Junkyard Golf and finished off with an Indian takeaway – perfect!


What I didn’t do: Have my dressing table destroyed and make up bag ransacked by a two year old with a penchant for black mascara (but I know someone who did 😉)

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page